

# DST-SERC School on **Nonlinear Dynamics**



Department of Physics, Panjab University, Chandigarh

January 27 – February 18, 2014

The next DST-SERC School on Nonlinear Dynamics will be held at the Department of Physics, Panjab University, Chandigarh during January 27 – February 18, 2014. The School will cover the physical and mathematical aspects of nonlinear dynamics theory.

## **BASIC COURSES**

- Dynamical systems and chaos
   H. Bhate (Univ. of Pune, Pune), Sudhir R. Jain (BARC, Mumbai), A. Khare (IISER, Pune), A. Prasad (DU, New Delhi), Sudeshna Sinha (IISER, Mohali)
- Characterisation and time series
   G. Ambika (IISER, Pune), R.E. Amritkar (PRL, Ahmedabad)
- Integrable systems and soliton theory
   K. Porsezian (PU, Puducherry), M. Senthilvelan (BDU, Trichy)
- Computer lab M. Santhanam (IISER, Pune), Priyanka Shukla (IISER, Kolkata)
- Experimental lab
   K. Murali (Anna Univ., Chennai)

### **ADVANCED TOPICS**

- Pattern formation
   S. Puri (JNU, New Delhi)
- Self-organised criticality
  D. Dhar (TIFR, Mumbai)
- Chemical reactions
   D.S. Ray (IACS, Kolkata), Somdatta Sinha (IISER, Mohali)
- Applications of solitons
   Ajit Kumar (IIT, Delhi), C.N. Kumar (PU, Chandigarh),
   P.K. Panigrahi (IISER, Kolkata), K. Porsezian (PU, Puducherry)

Ph.D. students, post-doctoral fellows and young researchers who are working in the field of nonlinear dynamics can apply for participation.

Registration form and other details are available at the website given below.

Intended participants should fill up the registration form and send it by email to the School Director. Participants should also arrange to have one letter of recommendation sent by the supervisor directly.

Selected participants will be provided round travel (III-AC) and local hospitality during the period of the School. The School is limited to 50 participants.

Last date for receiving applications is October 30, 2013.

## **ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

- J.K. Bhattacharjee (HRI, Allahabad)
- M. Lakshmanan (BDU, Tiruchirapalli)
- R. Ramaswamy (UoH, Hyderabad)

#### PLANNING COMMITTEE

- Hemant Bhate (Univ. of Pune, Pune)
- Amita Das (IPR, Gandhinagar)
- Neelima M. Gupte (IIT Madras, Chennai)
- Sudhir R. Jain (BARC, Mumbai)
- P.K. Panigrahi (IISER, Kolkata)
- K. Porsezian (PU, Puducherry)
- G. Rangarajan (IISc, Bengaluru)
- Amitava Roy (DST, New Delhi)
- Sudeshna Sinha (IISER, Mohali)

### LOCAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE

- Manjit Kaur Chairperson, Physics Dept.
- C.N. Kumar School Director
- Sudeshna Sinha
- B.C. Chaudhary
- J.S. Shahi
- S. Srivastava
- Kuldeep Kumar

## **CONTACT**

Prof. C.N. Kumar
Department of Physics
Panjab University
Chandigarh-160014
sercnld2014@pu.ac.in