Research Areas

The current thrust areas of the department are:

  • Nuclear Physics (Experiment)
  • Nuclear Physics (Theory)
  • High-Energy Physics (Experiment)
  • High-Energy Physics (Theory)
  • Condensed-Matter Physics (Experiment)
  • Condensed-Matter Physics (Theory)

Other research areas include:

  • Astrophysics and Planetary Sciences
  • Experimental Spectroscopy
  • Geo-Chronology
  • Physics Education

Experimental high-energy physics group is participating in several international collaborations namely, WA93, WA98, L3, EMU01, CMS and ALICE at CERN (Switzerland), Solenoidal Tracker At RHIC (STAR) experiment at Brookhaven National Laboratory (USA), Belle Experiment at KEK Japan and DZERO experiment at Fermi Lab (USA). The DZERO experiment participated in the discovery of top quark (1995) whereas WA93 and WA98 searched for new phase of matter, quark-gluon plasma, whose discovery was announced in 2000. At the national level this group is participating vigorously in Indian Neutrino Initiative collaboration and in experiments at VECC, Kolkata.

Theoretical high-energy physics group has made important contributions which are well recognised at the national and international level. Some of the well recognised contributions of the group concern: (i) formulation and analysis of consistent minimal supersymmetric models of the corresponding grand unified theories, (ii) texture specific mass matrices and CP violation and (iii) proton spin crisis. This group is also engaged in nonlinear dynamics, noncommutative field theories, etc.

Experimental nuclear physics group has several national and international collaborations and is engaged in the study of nuclear structure at high spin, reaction dynamics and mechanism, coulomb excitation and hyperfine interactions, x-ray fluorescence spectroscopy for photo-ionisation processes and PIXE for element analysis using cyclotron at PU, Chandigarh, 3 UD-Pelletron at IOP, Bhubaneswar and 15 UD-Pelletron at Inter-University Accelerator Center (IUAC), New Delhi. Theoretical nuclear physics group is studying the fusion, cluster-radioactivity at low energies and multi-fragmentation, nuclear flow and its disappearances and particle production at intermediate energies.

Theoretical condensed-matter physics group has several national and international collaborations and is working on doped and undoped carbon clusters, fullerene solids, nanoparticles and nanotubes, theory of classical and quantum liquids and glass transitions, besides electron correlation in three-, two- and one-dimensional quantum charged Bose and Fermi liquids. Experimental condensed-matter physics group is engaged in the study of the electrical and photo-electrical properties of pure and amorphous chalcogenides and effect of metallic diffusion in compound semiconductors.

The mass spectrometry group is engaged in the geo-chronological studies of Himalayan rocks.

Theoretical astrophysics group is involved in developing theoretical models and numerical simulations of the various astrophysical and planetary processes. This includes: (i) the origin and the evolution of the galaxy, (ii) the origin of the bulk isotopic abundances of the solar system, (iii) the origin of the solar system, (iv) the planetary differentiation of asteroids and planetesimals.


The department is having research collaboration with institutions like, Royal Military College of Canada, Canada; University of Notre Dame, USA; Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA; Fermilab, USA; CERN, Geneva; Bonn University, Germany; Chemistry Dept., City College of New York (CUNY), New York; KEK, Japan; ICTP, Trieste; University of Illinois, USA; BNL, USA; University of Leipzig, Germany; SUBATECH, Nantes, France; Institute for Theoretische Physics, Tubingen, Germany; Institute of Nuclear Studies, Warsaw University, Poland; University of Milano, Italy; JL University, Germany; JW Goethe University, Frankfurt, Germany; Institute of Nuclear Physics, Strasbourg, France; University of Surrey, Gilford, UK; University of Hawaii, Cincinnati; Virginia Tech., Princeton University, IUC, Kolkata; VECC, Kolkata; TIFR, Mumbai; NSC, New Delhi; IIT, Kanpur; Delhi University, Delhi; Mumbai University, Mumbai; IOP Bhubaneshwar; HP University, Shimla; TBRL, Chandigarh, PGIMER, Chandigarh, CSIO, Chandigarh, etc.


© since 1997 Panjab University, Chandigarh, India  |  Disclaimer